Android PRAGuard Dataset

About the Dataset

As retrieving malware for research purposes is a difficult task, we decided to release our dataset of obfuscated malware.

The dataset contains 10479 samples, obtained by obfuscating the MalGenome and the Contagio Minidump datasets with seven different obfuscation techniques. You can find more details in our paper*.

Download Policy

In order to obtain the dataset, please send an email to Michele Scalas [michele(dot)scalas(at)unica(dot)it] with the following subject: "[Android PRAGuard] - Request". Please, carefully follow the indications below to obtain the set:


- If you are a faculty member, please send us the request from your university mail account. If you are a student, please kindly ask your supervisor to send the email request. All requests must be sent from a university account. In the email, please include your name, affliation and homepage. Requests that do not follow these guidelines will be ignored.

- If you use our dataset for your paper, please cite this article and refer to our dataset as "Android PRAGuard":

Davide Maiorca, Davide Ariu, Igino Corona, Marco Aresu and Giorgio Giacinto. Stealth attacks: an extended insight into the obfuscation effects on Android malware. In Computers and Security, vol. 51, pp. 16-31, 2015.


- Please send us an email from your company's email account. Please briefly introduce yourself (e.g., name) and your company in that mail.

- Please also attach a justification letter (PDF) in official letterhead. The justification letter needs to acknowledge the "Android PRAGuard" project from the University of Cagliari, Italy, and clearly state the reasons why the dataset is being requested. Please note that this dataset cannot be shared with others without our permission.


Institute of Information System and Engineering, School of Software, Tsinghua University (China)

Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (Malaysia)

Mobile Security Research Center (South Korea)

University of Sannio (Benevento, Italy)

Hacettepe University (Turkey)

TUBITAK Cyber Security Institute (Turkey)

University of Maryland, College Park (USA)

University of Modena and Reggio Emilia (Italy)

School of Information Security, Korea University (South Korea)

Gazi University, Ankara (Turkey)

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (USA)

LIPN, Institu Galilée, Université Paris 13 (France)

University of Wollongong (Australia)

The LNM Institute of Information Technology (Rajasthan, India)

Maychitra Inc. (Located in University of California, Santa Barbara, USA)

Xidian University (China)

Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay (India) 

Royal Holloway, University of London (England)

Syracuse University, New York (USA)

Assam Don Bosco University (India)

Bar-Ilan University (Israel)

King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals (Saudi Arabia)

University of Bari (Italy)

Fordham University (New York, USA)

Koya University (Iraq)

University of New Brunswick (Canada)

University of Verona (Italy)

University of Manitoba (Canada)

University of  Zagreb (Croatia)

University of Computer Studies, Yangon (Myanmar)

University of Trento (Italy)

Dankook University (South Korea)

University of New Haven, Boston (USA)

Rajarambapu Institute of Technology (India)

Washington State University (USA)

Keimyung University (South Korea)

Centre for Development and Advanced Computing (India)

Centre for Cyber Security Research, Deakin University (Australia)

Northestern University (China)

National University of Mongolia (Mongolia)

Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (Greece)

Kind Saud University (Saudi Arabia)

Concordia University (Canada)

SCMS School of Engineering & Technology, Ernakulam (India)

Universiti Teknikal Melaka (Malaysia)

Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory - MIT (USA)

IBM Research, Haifa (Israel)

School of Engineering and Information Technology, Clayton (Australia)

NIT Calicut (India)

Daffodil International University (DIU), Dhaka (Bangladesh)

University Malaysia Pahang (Malaysia)

Gujarat Technological University (India)

Air University, Islamabad (Pakistan)

Osaka University (Japan)
Napier University (Scotland)
Lehigh University (USA)
Daffodil University (Bangladesh)
Comsats Institute of Science and Technology, Islamabad, (Pakistan)
Abdul Kalam Technical University, Uttar Pradesh, Lucknow (India)
University of Luxembourg (Luxembourg)
Queen's University Belfast (N. Ireland)
Universidad Carlos III de Madrid (Spain)
King Abdulaziz University (Saudi Arabia)
University of North Texas (USA)
University of Genova (Italy)
Sabanci University, Istanbul (Turkey)
University of Padova (Italy)
Beihang Unviersity (China)
Case Western Reserve University (USA)
ArkaInvent Research (Iran)
Kirikkale University (Turkey)
National Institute of Technology, Tiruchirappalli (India)
University of Glasgow (UK)
LiaoNing University (China)
Macquarie University, Sydney (Australia)
Ryerson University, Toronto (Canada)
University of Rome "La Sapienza" (Italy)
Keimyung University (S. Korea)
University of Delhi (India)
Deakin University (Australia)
University of Campania "Luigi Vanvitelli" (Italy)
University of Brazilia (Brazil)
Shantou University (China)
Atharva College of Engineering (India)
NMIMS University, Mumbrai (India)
GLS University, Ahmedabad, Gujarat (India)
Najran University (Saudi Arabia)
Samsung Electronics (Brazil)
University of California - Santa Barbara (US)
Sardar Patel University (India)
National Taiwan University (Taiwan)
Delft University of Technology  (The Netherlands)
Universiti Putra Malaysia (Malaysia)
Mashad Azad University (Iran)
Anna University (India)
Indian Institute of Technology (India)
Hanyang University (S. Korea)
University of Toledo (Spain)
Columbus State University (USA)
Belarusian State University (Belarus)
Ferdowsi University of Mashhad (Iran)
Calypso AI (Los Angeles, US)
University of Technology, Sydney (Australia)
Pace Institute of Technology and Science (India)
Duzce University (Turkey)
University of Xinjiang (China)
Heriot-Watt University (United Kingdom)
University of Electronic Science and Technology (China)
University of California, Irvine (US)
University of Lima (Peru)
Soongsil University, Seoul (Korea)
Giustino Fortunato University, Benevento (Italy)
Islamic University, Kushtia (Bangladesh)
National University of Sciences and Technology, Islamabad (Pakistan)
Wrocław University of Science and Technology, Wroclaw (Poland)
Sun Yat-sen University, Guangzhou (China)
Technology Innovation Institute, Abu Dhabi (United Arab Emirates)
Hanshin University, Osan (South Korea)

Bahria University, Islamabad (Pakistan)

Northumbria University, Newcastle (United Kingdom)

B. K. Birla College of Arts, Science and Commerce, Maharashtra (India)

PSG College of Technology, Coimbatore (India)

Karamanoğlu Mehmetbey University, Karaman (Turkey)

University College London, London (United Kingdom)

Mansoura University, Mansoura (Egypt)

Beijing Electronic Science and Technology Institute, Beijing (China)

Maastricht University, Maastricht (The Netherlands)

Columbia University, New York City (USA)

Gachon University, Seongnam (South Korea)

National Institute of Technology Karnataka Surathkal, Mangalore (India)

Air Force Institute of Technology, Kaduna (Nigeria)

Babu Madhav Institute of Information Technology, Gujarat (India)
New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology, Socorro (USA)

*Special thanks to Marco Aresu for helping us producing the dataset.



New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology, Socorro (USA)